Skip to content

v/a * 10 Years Of Madness (Behind The Iron Curtain) cd 2000 achtung baby!)

This is a compilation cd to celebrate 10 years of existence of the Russian underground culture magazine Achtung Baby! (1988-1998). A double cd in an A5 booklet with silver printing on black paper with on one disc mostly industrial and ambient music and on the other disc more folky music.
However I believe that the cd was made available quite recently (at least to a larger public), it seems that it was actually released or planned for a while ago. The booklet -for example- states that all tracks safe the one of Sanctum are exclusive, but I happen to already know a several of them.
The first disc is the industrial / ambient disc and I must say that I am not too crazy about it. Most tracks are very monotous and too minimal for my liking. The only very good track is of Turbund Sturmwerk, which is a slightly different version of the last track of their latest cd (before the ‘ghost track’). The other bands are Reutoff, Inade, Skrol (quite a nice track), Solar Salt, 4th Sign Of The Apocalypse, First Law, Sanctum, Reptilicus, Turbund Sturmwerk, Dissecting Table and Cyclotimia.
The second cd is already more interesting. It opens with Anima In Fiamme and continues with Feverdreams, a very silly but funny track of Der Blutharsch, a great alternative version of “The March Of Brian Boru” by Blood Axis, “Operation Valkrie” of Ostara, Argine, Novy Svet, Troum, Ataraxia, then industrial tracks of the Hybryds, The Infant Cycle, Dream Intro Dust and Les Joyaux de la Princesse, a folky song of Ain Soph and a nice closer off by Stahlwerk 9.
All in all quite a descent overview of the scene, but as with many compilations there are only a handfull of tracks that I like.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *